h1

Stepping on chewing gum sux. Bumping to one is either awsome or a true nightmare.

juin 16, 2009

Two years ago, about that same time of the year, i went to Venice. It was a really cool trip, something I’d never have the chance to do if it wasn’t for really cool friends that allowed me to know the real Venice, away from all the touristic crap. We were all architecture students, so the visits were really the way I liked them. Not to mention the Biennale was on too. Terriffic.
And today I found this pictures, of Simone Decker‘s work that are absolutely amazing! First, because the work is impressive and it makes me want to come accross one of the sculptures so badly… And second, because I can remember very well the places where they are installed!! Not because I have a super cool memory (because I had serious problems with finding my way in Venice) but because I have private pics of the same places🙂

So I’ll leave you to it, tell me if you like:
simone decker artist sculpture installation photography chewing gum venice

simone decker artist sculpture installation photography chewing gum venice

simone decker artist sculpture installation photography chewing gum venicesimone decker artist sculpture installation photography chewing gum venice

The second pic really makes me wonder if thay’re real of photoshopped… Does anyone have some kind of knowledge on the matter?

6 commentaires

  1. Yes, it is curious that there’s no sign of a shadow in the second photo…


  2. Yeah, I like to pretend I didn’t see it…😦 How great it would be if they were 100% real, and, most of all, NOT made out of actual chewing gum!


  3. Génial ! c’est bizarre, c’est à la fois répugnant et attirant. Je trouve que ça vient chercher les émotions d’enfance, quand on n’arrête pas de sortir et rentrer son chewing gum de la bouche, le coller sur la table, le tourner autour du doigt. J’aime bien aussi l’idée de faire d’un objet censé rester confidentiel (et qui lorsque sorti de son contexte est accusé d’être « sale »), quelque chose d’affiché, d’extraverti, extra large, drôle et qui peut même être beau (sous le soleil). Merci encore pour cette belle découverte. Et sacrée veinarde de te faille Venise out of the tracks…


  4. Petit com’ extra-post: quand j’étais petite, je me demande si je n’étais pas un poil autiste, en tout cas, j’avais cette fixette de chewing gum imaginaire: j’imaginais que j’avais toujours un chewing gum géant rose entre les doigts, et du coup, je frottais toujours mes mains de partout pour l’enlever, et le défi était de m’en débarasser toute seule, sans le coller sur quelqu’un d’autre. Haha, perturbée, la petite. En tout cas, de là vient mon coup de coeur pour les statues!!


  5. Je viens de voir ta réponse… hum très intéressant en effet😉 Je réalise soudain le chewing gum cristallise beaucoup de fantasmes et d’obsessions de gosses. objet transitionnel ????…


  6. Probablement… tes actions de tes mains matérialisées sur une matière souple, colorée, et à ta merci hahaha! Non, je ne sais pas, mais shuuut: je fais vraiment gosse perturbée avec cette histoire😉



Laisser un commentaire

